Why I have been and will continue to talk about Social Issues on this blog   Leave a comment

I want to begin by first making the following things crystal clear:

  1. I am not a conspiracy theorist. I avoid supporting ideologies based on just circumstantial evidence or data.
  2. I am neither a racist or a race baiter.
  3. I research all topics on social issues before I write a post about them.
  4. I am always very clear when stating my opinion and when I am stating facts.

This goes for both my blog posts and videos as well.

…In regards to the second one, it especially makes no sense at all since I have openly expressed an interest to many people of dating women who are not black or West Indian. Not opposed to dating a black or West Indian woman but I personally believe love is color blind. I also believe no one should care what the race of someone’s loved ones are especially when it doesn’t directly or indirectly effect them.

Anyway, I decided to post this not because someone said something to me or anything like that. I’m posting this now because I WANT people to understand something: I can’t keep silent on what is going on in America. I cannot and WILL NOT.

I’m going to use a restaurant as a metaphor to explain my point.

A customer walks into a well known restaurant that is known for its exceptional menu and first class service. The restaurant has the long-held reputation of putting the customer first above all else. This customer is someone who has done business with the restaurant over the year course of his life. The Great Recession did a number of the economy but the restaurant survived while many other independent businesseses fell by the wayside.

The restaurant is also known to have two core philosophies: Prepare food as efficiently as possible and do whatever’s necessary to stay open for business. The customer came at a time the restaurant is deciding on who the next owner may be. One is a former line Chef of the restaurant who has known the original owners for decades and many of the kitchen staff believe she’s the best person for the job. The other is a well known celebrity from the neighborhood who has his own vision.

The current owner has decided to let the two try out for the job and this month’s customers are unwhitting guinea pigs. There were other candidates but they were outbid by the two who remain. At the same time, there are rumors the owner had been talking to two other interested parties for the same position.

Each week, the customer returned to dine at the restaurant. At the end of the month, the owner joins the customer at his usual table to talk to them about his experience. Having known each other over the years, the owner tells the customer he can’t decide which candidate he should choose and has decided to ask them about your experience. There were a few things about each management style the customer liked but there were more things about both management styles that they didn’t like. As the owner looks at the customer with a hopeful expression, they tell him “I can’t decide. You’re asking me to pick the lesser of two evils.”

…Mind you, that’s just in regards to the presidential election. The way the media has such strong influence in our nation’s politics and has for decades, too many Americans don’t know who they are voting for. They know they’re voting for someone but they don’t know WHO. We are at a point in our nation’s history where those with power not only change the rules to their benefit but change the rules at the expense of everyone else. While I do agree those who are born in poverty should work to improve their own situation, they should not be punished for wanting to improve their situation.

This has been the case for many groups of people in America for centuries. Even worse, those in power as well as the media has been pulling out all the stops to not only “keep order” but suppress the truth.

…This is why I blog. I will continue to do so until I am no longer able to.

Leave a Reply

