If I suddenly became very rich, here’s what I’d do   Leave a comment

This has the assumption I won the lottery in mind but I’m doing this in general.

To paraphrase Forrest Gump: A man only needs so much money to live on. The rest is just for showing off.

Let’s say I win a payout of 300 Million (WOOT!). After taxes, that’s about $245 Million. Fortunately, I already have a list of things I’d buy if I had more money than I’d ever need in my lifetime. I considered omitting some of what I’m about to share but since it’s my hypothetical money, I won’t hold back.

 

First, what I’d spend on myself:

 

This house:

https://i0.wp.com/media.mlspin.com/photo.aspx

Located in Boston’s Hyde Park neighborhood, it would be the first purchase I make. Asking price: $429,000. I considered not sharing the Real Estate web page but since it’s currently on the market, I figure why not. You would also obviously need to be well off to consider buying this house. I reccommend going to the website to see the house’s interior and backyard. And yes, this is a single-family home.

It’s not far from where I currently live. It’s also closer to Cleary Square for those with Google Earth/Maps handy. My polling station is at the nearby high school to boot so it’s win-win. After buying it, I would pay off the mortage for the next few decades–easily past the end of the average human lifespan–to ensure whoever gets the house after me lives rent-free for a long time. I would then spend about $4 Million furnishing the interior and another $2 Million on the exterior.

A few things I’d have done with the exterior include:

  • Solar panels on the roof
  • State of the air conditioning + heating
  • Mature fruit trees planted–Apple, Pear and Peach
  • 12-foot fencing along the perimeter of the property.
  • State of the art security system.

Before I forget, I don’t have a driver’s license so that means I don’t need to buy a car =D

https://i0.wp.com/logok.org/wp-content/uploads/2014/05/Paypal-logo-20141.png

 

I will deposit $5 Million into my Paypal Account. This will allow me to maintain all my subscription services including Netflix, Crunchyroll and WWE Network for the rest of my life. I would also obviously be able to play World of Warcraft and buy every game on Steam for the rest of my life if I wanted to. Plus alot of other stuff obviously.

https://i1.wp.com/www.bostonharborbeacon.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/06/spectacle_island.jpg

https://i1.wp.com/www.bostonfoodandwhine.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/07/spectacle.jpg

https://c2.staticflickr.com/2/1159/1352030878_bde81c60cb_z.jpg

I’d buy this island from the city of Boston. It would remain open to the public but I would develop the visitor center a little bit and add a heliport in the middle of the island. Given Spectacle Island was once a landfiill AND could often seen burning from the shore, it’s come a long way. The Visitor Center would be expanded and made into a 4-story building with a food court, toiletries and some lodging. Construction would be done in ways that wouldn’t severely disrupt the island’s ecosystem.

https://i2.wp.com/blog.masslive.com/breakingnews/2009/02/large_LudlowPike.jpg

https://i2.wp.com/s3-media2.fl.yelpcdn.com/bphoto/aXRggtoLnMQb-bNPI1B0Pw/o.jpg

 

…I have a weakness for Rest Stops/Areas. Anyone who’s ever traveled cross-country by road has probably stopped at one even if to just for a quick toilet break. I would have five built in Massachusetts: One in Western MA, one in Central MA, one on the Cape and two in the Greater Boston Area: I would put one in Hyde Park (because why not?) and the other in Milton. They would both be non-invasive to both residents and wildlife while providing a service for both locals and those passing through. I’d invest $50 Million into this–$10 Million per Rest Area.

https://i0.wp.com/www.framingham.com/news/wp-content/uploads/2011/09/20110903-star-market-shaws.jpg
I’d put in $25 Million to have as many vacant retail locations around Boston filled ASAP. I would pay to have Best Buy or Barnes & Noble set up shop in a vacant building near my house on that note. The upside is as the landower, that’s more income for me ^_^

https://images6.alphacoders.com/382/382942.jpg

I’d invest $100 Million to have four container ships converted into floating hospitals. I’d then donate each of them to the four most known hospitals in Boston: Mass General, Boston Medical Center, Tufts Medical Center and Boston Children’s Hospital.

..By this point, I’d have about $61 Million left over. Subtracting the $11 Million I mentioned at the top for housing and PayPal, I’d have $40 Million left to play with. I’ll take off another $5 Million with which to live off of and give $20 Million to my family to figure out with the stipulation not a cent of it is to be donated to charity. This leaves $15 Million for me to use up.

Let’s see…

https://cityyearboston.files.wordpress.com/2011/02/img_0222.jpg?w=559&h=746

City Year gets $10 Million, four of which is toward the startup of 4 new sites across the country (The startup cost actually is $1 Million for a new site somewhere in the US).

…So now I’m down to my last $5 Million. I will give it to 25 people in Boston who fit in one of the following 5 groups:

  1. Young person who is trying to stay out of trouble
  2. Family in need of a bigger home
  3. Student who has difficulty fitting in at high school
  4. Family has a child with medical bills/needs
  5. Local business owner

Each person would get $100,000. To be eligable, you must be a resident of Boston. This will be verified before the check is given to you.  I will have sole discretion of who gets 100 Grand. What you do with it afterward is none of my business. Just don’t spend it all in one place XD

…To certain members of my Facebook friends and family, I didn’t forget about you: I expect alot of money to be left over from my real estate and shipbuilding ventures. You’ll get some of that money (WOOT!). So, if I ever suddenly find myself with a couple hundred million in cash, now you know what I’d do with it. Of course, there’s a few other things I’d do that I didn’t mention at all but that’s nothing worth sharing. LOL.

Save

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

