Ending my Netflix subsctiption in Spring 2016   Leave a comment

https://pr.netflix.com/home/10/netflix-hp.png

…Right.

The main reasons I haven’t yet cancelled despite overwhelming reasons to do so are two:

  1. As long as I stay subscribed through May 9, 2016 I will save a dollar on the monthly streaming subscription (subbed since March 2011).
  2. I can use it on my Android phone, PS Vita, 3DS, iPod and iPad.

My attitude this year on owning vs. streaming is why I’ve decided to end my Netflix subscription next spring: I prefer to own the movies and TV series I’m gonna watch frequently. All of the Anime I watched for the first time on Netflix I now own: Clannad, Spice & Wolf and Ouran High School Host Club to name a few.

Having stopped my WWE Network subscription yesterday, the plan going into next summer is to only use Crunchyroll as my streaming provider. In light of Netflix ramping up on original programming (an inevitability I’m aware of) and introducing advertisements to the streaming service (even though it’s for their original programming), the company has fallen further into disfavor with me. That said, the projections for this coming winter is the main reason why I am going to keep my netflix sub going through the next 8 months including September but not May. As long as I stay subbed to then, I will still pay just $8.

Now that I’m on the subject, WWE Network’s monthly sub is $10. Crunchyroll’s is $9. World of Warcraft’s is of course $15 though the introduction of the WoW Token makes it possible to buy game time with-game currency, not cash. From April to June, I had all four active so for three months that was $42, or $126 total across all three months. Yeah, way too much to pay for all four of those with my salary >.>;

I don’t really care for Netflix’s original programming and iTunes has Netflix beat when it comes to NEW movies: I bought Mad Max: Fury Road and Selma from iTunes while both were still in theaters. Straight Outta Compton’s rumored to go on sale at the end of September on iTunes so…yeah. I no longer see the need to rely on Netflix when I can get a better deal from elsewhere: Crunchyroll takes care of my Anime needs despite being subbed only and I can get movies super-cheap from a certain store in Downtown Boston.

Netfix is targeting a certain demographic that I don’t fall into with these original shows. That isn’t what bothers me. What bothers me is their willingness to cut their ties with content providers who then turn around and sign exclusive deals with Hulu or develop their own streaming service. I once called Netflix the Streaming King. It still is but for what I’m looking for, Netflix fails epically. The main draw for me was Anime but most of the Anime they have now is subbed even though the dub can easily be found elsewhere or has aired on Toonami.

 

Leave a Reply

