AB2015 Day 1 Recap: Back to Back Action!   Leave a comment

https://lh6.googleusercontent.com/g87QYuANBo8JCqVtv1MVK3Jv5DVLFZ7ysfmxBEWzt4Ij1kVGhNmoVXmVQyeGyY9cBfRZ-jmsz3xAUac=w1566-h618

…That’s the best way I can think of to describe Friday.

Due to technical difficulties I had with my iPod, I left home 90 minutes later than I planned to. And to add insult to injury, I was only able to get a third of the music on my iPod. The silver lining of course being I don’t do panels on Fridays. Otherwise, I’d have been in serious trouble 😄

The delay made me miss Opening Ceremonies. To me, it sets the tone for the weekend-long convention. The consolation is I did get to give my camera and bluetooth speaker a stress test. They passed with flying colors =O

Due to the weather forecast I decided not to go to the Swap Meet last night. When I got back to Hyde Park at around 9:30PM there wasn’t a cloud in the sky (LOL!). I look outside and I see sunshine and no rain. It was forecast to rain from 8:00PM Friday night to 2:00PM this afternoon. That’s ok as I was still able to get all of the Swap deals I made in advance taken care of Friday afternoon. That leaves me with ALOT LESS stuff to carry tonight to the Swap Meet I usually go to ^_^

Now let me talk about the panels I went to:

  • Viz Media and Aniplex were both industry panels. The panelists talked about upcoming Anime and Manga releases. I was disappointed to get confirmation the revived Sailor Moon, Sailor Moon R, Sailor Moon Crystal and Ranma 1/2 Anime Dubs were prettymuch Hulu exclusive. I asked the Viz Media panel to consider bringing them to Netflix and they dismissively said tell Netflix. I will of course but I suspect Hulu and Viz have an exclusive deal but just didn’t want to say it. I was impressed Aniplex gave Toonami a nice plug letting folks know Sword Art Online airs at 1:00AM (EST) Saturday Night/Sunday Morning. It was also announced the final 3 volumes of the Bleach Manga will be coming to the US sometime this year. Finally, there was confirmation the English DVD/Blu-Ray release of Sword Art Online II will be released as two 13-episode half seasons with the first set coming in June. I gave both panels 3 stars on the Guidebook App.
  • The panel “How to Host a Good Anime Convention Panel” (In all Caps in the Guidebook App) was surprisingly good and informative. As some of you remember, I submitted an application to do a panel like this for AB2015 but it was rejected. Having attended this panel myself, he was clearly the best person for this type of panel and not just because he is a professional. While the panelist didn’t talk about anything I didn’t already know, he did pull back the curtain a little bit and talked about the aspects of running a convention like Anime Boston. I’m talking about the stuff your average congoer never thinks about and griefers never take into consideration. I gave it 5 Stars on the Guidebook App.
  • Tales of Tales was a massive disappointment and it was the panel I’d been looking to seeing. The irony is the previously mentioned panel was the one I’d just come from. It was a panel of 4 people yet only 2 of them talked the whole time. I think it was nerves or lack of preparation or a combination of both. The speakers looked uncomfortable. Listen: I was sitting in the FRONT ROW no more than 3 feet away. They used microphones and I could barely hear them 80% of the time. It was a massive snoozefest for me. They definitely could’ve used their time much better. They spent the first 40 minutes going over all of the flagship Tales games. 25 of those 40 minutes was video clips they likely pulled from You Tube. I’m both mad and relieved I didn’t resubmit my planned Symphonia panel from last year. Mad because of how disappointed I was yet relieved when I think about my panel being rejected in favor of this one. I gave it 1 Star of the Guidebook App.

Oh before I forget, I finally met my artist friend in person in the Artist Alley yesterday. Remember this picture?

https://i1.wp.com/th02.deviantart.net/fs70/PRE/f/2013/260/0/2/commission___celes_cosplay_by_ah_kaziya-d6mqiy3.jpg

My friend made it for me. Click here to go to her page on Deviant Art.

So by the time you’re reading this, it’s after 6:30PM (EST). I scheduled this post to go live then as I plan to leave for Anime Boston by that time. I will do a recap of Day 2 and my Pokemon Panel as soon as I get home TONIGHT. I will post the recap for tonight’s panel on my Game Blog and my recap of the evening overall on this one. The recap for my Sunday panel and Day 3 overall will come tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

