So much garbage on American TV these days   Leave a comment

 

The more I seriously think about, the happier I am with my decision to only watch network TV for sports, the news and Cartoon Network’s Anime block Saturday at 11:30PM to 6:00AM Sunday morning (though I only watch the first hour for Attack on Titan and Bleach, both of which are in their final episodes) . Anything else I might want to watch is where DVDs/Blu-Ray sets, Netflix and Crunchyroll come in.

What’s really sad is there are alot of sensible people out there who would rather watch junk on TV than do something else with their time. This isn’t like the 80s and 90s where you just knew not to watch Daytime TV. These days, it’s rare to find meaningful programming outside PBS. For those with Cable/Satellite you can no longer rely on The History Channel, The Discovery Channel or even TLC.

Controversial from the start, Here Comes Honey Boo-Boo was finally cancelled by TLC last month despite having just recorded a new season (which will reportedly cost the network $19 Million). The reason: The matriach of the family’s new boyfriend is a convicted child molester. What’s worse: The ex-con was convicted of molesting her now 21-year old daughter, who was the age of the show’s star at the time. Major props to TMZ for breaking the story and Kudos to TLC for doing the right thing in both cancelling the show and offering counseling to the family.

Moving on, I make it a point to avoid network TV (CBS, ABC, NBC, FOX and CW) during state and national elections. The only real way to stop the special interest groups is to not watch at all. I think I mentioned this during the election for Boston mayor last year but many people do not do their own research on candidates or wait until the day before an election to try to do research. A considerable number of folks in this demographic decide who they’re gonig to vote for based on the TV Spots, candidate personality, party affiliation or a combination of all three. This was how Mitt Romney became Governor of Massachusetts and Scott Brown became a Senator in Massachusetts. Yes, the same Scott Brown who tried and failed to run for Senate in NH and the same Mitt Romney who ran for President in 2012.

Anywho, I’m content paying the $15 a month I pay for Netflix and Crunchyroll to watch what I want to watch when I want to watch it on demand. I’m also fine with buying DVD or Blu-Ray box sets of my favorite TV Shows or buying digital copies from iTunes, Xbox Live or The Playstation Network. Yes, I hate Political Ads THAT much and no, I don’t use Pandora either. I like being able to own the music I listen to be it digital or physical. Everyone who would prefer to go to the pirate sites for movies are not as smart as they think they are and they are taking money out of someone’s paycheck. Not the actors and the guys on the top but the unsung middlemen who do 80% of the work and are only mentioned by name in the closing credits.

Don’t wanna buy alot of movies? Just wait until it comes out on Netflix.

 

Leave a Reply

