These last two school years have been an amazing experience   Leave a comment

EDIT 5/26/2014 1030PM: At the request of a friend, I have removed the name of my current place of employment from this blog until further notice.

 

On Friday, I had my annual evaluation with the principal and my classroom partner.

Like I did last year, I will hold off talking about how things went until after staffing for the following school year has been announced internally at work. That will likely happen in the second half of June.

I do not expect my name to be on the list of returning staff.

That said and in light of certain types of conversations that may arise once staffing assignments for the next school year is announced, I thought it was important that I say this now to take the sting out of the formal announcement to come next month.

Despite the emotional roller coaster this year has been both at work and at home, my experience at this amazing school is what I consider a once in a lifetime experience. There is simply nothing like it and probably never will be. Of course, I wish I could have at least one more year but it’s as I’ve said to many of my fellow coworkers I’ve come to know, respect and love both professionally and personally: I will stay only if it’s mutually agreed my particular skill set fits with the needs of the school.

On Friday, we (myself and the principal) agreed that they do not fit the needs of the school at this time.

While I’m fairly certain I will not be asked to come back next year, it’s too early for me to say for sure that’s what’s going to happen. On  the one hand, this is a situation I didn’t prepare for. On the other hand, I feel that this is the best outcome for both me and the school to have reached this point.

It takes alot to be able to admit your present skillset may be insufficient for the needs of your workplace.  I came to that conclusion the year before but I was given another chance in a different setting anyway. The extra opportunity was something I feel I did not allow to go to waste. Come what may happen, when the last day of school is over I will walk out of the school with my head held high.

Anyway, that’s as far as I’m going to share until things are decided and eventually announced at work. Until that happens, this is all I’m going to say on the subject.

Leave a Reply

