Anime Boston 2014 is 8 weeks away!   Leave a comment

 

As of today, Panel Application sbumissions are officially CLOSED.

I myself have submitted five panel applications, the 5th one being a last-minute entry. To recap for those who don’t read My Anime & Manga Blog or Video Game Blog, here are the five panels I’m going to do at Anime Boston 2014 pending approval:

  1. Clannad: The Place Where Wishes Come True: It’s returning for the third year in a row. If you want to see highlights from what I did last year, someone uploaded it on You Tube. Anyway, Clannad is one of my two favorite Anime of all time. The rustic, slow-paced settings and emotionally sensitive characters are relatable and lovable. The biggest thing I love about it is the life lessons one can draw from virtually every episode of this Anime. I skipped on doing this last year but this year I’m going to play some clips from the Anime. I have the DVD sets so…yeah. Assuming it gets approved and slotted, this panel will be Saturday night from 8:00PM to 9:00PM.
  2. Court Records: Ace Attorney: This panel made its debut last year. Easily the most popular panel of the day. Don’t believe me? I shot this video clip moments before the panel started. I walked in the door 5 minutes before I shot that footage. Every seat was filled. When I started it was standing room only. Everything folks loved about the panel last year will be back this year. I’ve requested an extra 30 minutes so that I can dedicate a full half hour to the trial. I will also play 20 minutes from the Ace Attorney Movie. It will be EPIC. Assuming it gets approved and slotted, this panel will be Friday afternoon or Sunday morning.
  3. Persona 4: Pursuing My True Self: A new panel I am doing, this one is about the video game Persona 4 and the Anime adaptation of it. I will play clips from the Anime during the panel seeing as I have it in both Blu Ray and a digital copy from iTunes. I will also spend a bit of time talking about the phychiatry of Persona, which will be very interesting for those who see it live. My intent is do do this panel Sunday mid-morning assuming it’s approved.
  4. Fire Emblem Awkening: Time Paradox: Looking back at it now I am considering scrapping this panel in favor of just doing the other four panels. I have drawn up my plans for this panel and so far what I have in mind will barely take up 20 minutes. The Panel Selection process has only just begun so I will have to wait until I know if this panel’s been chosen for sure to decide if I still want to do it or not. I know I’ve definitely changed my mind about doing it but as I just said, if it doesn’t get approved I’ll be happy with that. Pending approval this panel is slotted for sometime on Friday.
  5. Tales of Symphonia: 10 Years Later: For most, this was their first Tales of Game. Even 10 years later it’s the most popular Tales of game by a large margin. The game is being re-released with its sequel Tales of Symphonia: Dawn of the New World (originally released on the Nintendo Wii) on the Playstation 3 next month as part of a set called Tales of Symphonia Chronicles ($40). This is a panel for the fans but to make this panel extra special, I am giving away two copies of Tales of Symphonia Chronicles at the panel. Assuming it’s approved and slotted, of course.

 

There you have it.

I have a rough outline for the three new panels drawn already but I will do the powerpoints in full during February Break. I can only hope I will find out which of my panels were slotted by the end of February. As I mentioned above, I’ve changed my mind about doing the Fire Emblem panel. I don’t have enough material to fill the requested time and I’d rather not stretch things out like I did with my Fan Fiction panel last year. Speaking of which, notice it’s not listed above. Everyone found it informaative and helpful but for me, it was mentally taxing doing that panel for 90 minutes by myself. It just kept going on and on. I will not do it again unless I have a copanelist or two.

Anywho, this is what I got lined up where programming is concerned. Comicopia and Level Up Gaming have both confirmed they will be back at Anime Boston as well and I am thrilled. I’m working on getting some transportation concerns from the convention on Saturday night squared away but other than that, I’m set ^_^

Leave a Reply

