The Aurabolt Returns to the Mission Hill School this September   Leave a comment

I’ve known since Thursday but staffing for next year was officially announced this morning.

As I said to a few families and coworkers yesterday, only two things will change that: I win the lottery or I get a job offer that matches or beats my contract with Boston Public Schools for the next year. My uncle has promised my a position with his company once it’s up and running but it’ll probably be another year or so before he can hire me. I was in the process of applying for a job at City Year in Boston when I learned the position I was applying for was in the process of being filled. I looked into finding work as a journalist for the local media outlets but all of them are looking for someone with prior experience.

Prettymuch returning to BPS was my last resort. No offense to everyone at Mission Hill who are thrilled to learn I will be back in September but it’s the truth. I excessed myself with every intention of getting work elsewhere but it just didn’t work out that way. Sometimes you just have to take what’s available until you find something else.

Or in my case, stay put.

At the excess pool there were nearly 100 people vying for 70 open positions. Some of the schools had a delegation present to give an overview of the positions being offered. Since I was excessed, my position was one of them. This was the third year in a row I’d been excessed from a school and the second in a row I excessed myself. I decided to rescind my vacancy literally at the last possible minute: Just before the bidding process began. The decision to return or not was mine to make. I needed it to feel like it was my decision. After all, I was actively looking for work elsewhere over the last 5 months. As for weather I’m happy with “my decision” this was a possibility I prepared myself for. It’s the main reason I waited until the last possible moment to retain my current position. At the very least, I can say I know what I’m getting myself into this time and for me that counts for something.

As does the Mission Hill School Community.

What makes me an invaluable asset in this industry is my ability to quickly adapt to nearly every situation or challenge I’m faced with. I do what’s needed, not just what’s asked of me or what I’m expected to do. There’s also the fact I thrive in pressure situations. I doubt any of the other folks who might have bid on my position and were hired would last longer than a few weeks. I have a pretty good idea of what’s necessary to have a measure of success at MHS and the one thing that’s stressed is being flexible all the time. I’m physically and mentally capable of doing that all the time. It’s all I know in and outside of work.

I could go on and on but the rest, you’re going to have to wait until my review of this school year. It’ll come in two weeks.

 

Leave a Reply

