Some interesting advice I learned from David Matranga on Voice Acting   Leave a comment

Unless your name is Johnny Bosch Young, Luci Christain or Vic Magnoiga don’t expect agencies and companies to fall over themselves in a bid to contract your skills. Contrary to popular belief, Voice Actors havre it tougher than Live Actors. While VAs have the benefit of not having to play to a camera you usually have several people being called in to audition for a single character. If they like you, you’ll get called in for a followup rehearsal and so on. Also unlike live actors, most VAs are not as well known aside from the three I named as well as possibly Sean Schimmel (Goku’s English VA) and Tom Wayland.

Bottom line if you wanna be a Voice Actor: Don’t quit your day job. If you don’t have a day job, get one. Second, build a rep via social media and You Tube. Audacity and a mic are all you need to get started. Type a few lines a few lines and record yourself reading them. Keep the recording to 2 minutes max. If people like it, they’ll ask for more, etc. Don’t expect overnight success. People are rarely THAT lucky. Try recording yourself as different characters. If someone from the industry likes what they hear they’ll be in touch.

If you want to be a Voice Actor, you need to be willing to commit the time and effort to make it happen. There are many, MANY Fandubs out there if you want a few examples. Some without official dubs but most from stuff that was never dubbed. Surf the internet. See if there are casting calls for Fanmade Radio Shows. Tales of the Abridged and Yugioh: The Abridged Series are two such examples.

I think I might have said this before some years ago on the original SA.net but when I have the time to do it, I’m going to do Audio Books of some of my Original Stories as well as some of my Fanfics. With the Fanfics, I won’t go out of my way to try to sound like the official English dub. I won’t try to ham the lines either, though. My plate’s pretty full right now so unfortunately I must say it might be some time before I can commit the time to do it.

You’ve all probably seen my You Tube videos so you how my voice usually sounds. I will make the conscientious effort to review twice and if necessary, record again if my voice comes out odd for one reason or another. I will also not record when I know I havy a stuffy nose. Despite finding out the hard way the limits of my iPod’s video recording capabilities with the apps I have, I will be recording with it a bit more. Almost all of my videos up to now have been recorded at home with my Desktop’s webcam. After that idiot troll got me worked up in April and during the week of the Marathon Bombing at that, I have been more conscientious of what I put on You Tube.

Speaking of My You Tube Channel: Do me a favor and Like everything I’ve uploaded up to now that interests you. I’m not asking for a specific number but lety’s just say if enough of my videos get a certain amount of Likes I might be inclined to upload something nice I’ve been sitting on for those who didn’t see my panels ^_^

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

