Moving on from Education   Leave a comment

I originally drafted this on April 4 and after reviewing the three paragraphs I’d written so far, I’m glad I decided not publish it at the time.

One thing my trolling incident reminded me last week is at times, I overreact in situations where it isn’t warranted. At the same time, I underreact in siuations that warrant a much stronger reaction. The only grandfather I ever knew died two weeks ago. It didn’t even sink even though it’s been a week since he was buried in Trinidad. I felt absolutely nothing when I learned of his death even though he meant alot to me. That’s just speaking for my more recent personal struggles.

I know I’m known for long monlogues so I’ll give the short version:

When this school year started I lost much of my confidence in the classroom due to some things the happened with me the previous school year at another school. Those collective things (which I will not discuss in detail either here or in my longer explaination) were the reason I decided to leave that school community after one year. Going into this school year at the Mission Hill School gave me the fresh start I was in need of in the aftermath of the previous school year. If I had gone to MHS last year instead of this year I would have stayed on for longer than I did.

As I hinted at above several things happened last year that led to me leaving the school where I was after just a year. By the end of the first week of school this year I had made the decision to part ways with Boston Public Schools at the end of the school year. The little confidence I’d been able to muster was swept away by the end of that first week. I’d been working with children 11 years going into this is school year. For the first time since my time in City Year I found myself doubting mysellf and my ability to be productive in the classroom more times than I’m willing to admit. Not just that first week throughout the year. In every other area I was fine but once I stepped in the classroom I could literally feel the confidence in my skills shatter to pieces. I consider myself fortunate I not only realized it so early on but I was able to kept the cloud from ruining what was otherwise an opportunity of a lifetime.

The Mission Hill School is known to education communities all over the world. I have wish only continued success to the MHS community moving forward.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.