Four months removed from the anniversary of Gangnam Style’s debut comes the next Dance Craze   Leave a comment

Back in the day when I was a grade schooler people could not get enough of Billie Jean, Thriller  and by extension, The Moonwalk and the Thriller Choreography respectively. When I got a bit older it was all about the Macarena. Around the time I was wrapping up my second year in City Year all the kids were talkin’ about the You’re a Jerk. Two years later it was the Soulja Boy.

Fast forward to 2011: LMFAO’s Party Rock Anthem.

Last year PSY’s Gangnam Style smashed the #1 views spot on You Tube previously held by Justin Bieber’s Baby.

This year it’s all about Baaeur’s remix of The Harlem Shake.

I haven’t done it in a while so I’ve attached a poll to this blog post. Two, actually. They are both below. In answer to what both polls are asking, my all-time favorite of the four is Gangnam Style followed by Party Rock Anthem. I can do the Horse Dance and am working on Shufflin’. In answer to the question of weather I think The Harlem Shake can overcome Gangnam style, my answer’s no. Unlike Gangnam Style The Harlem Shake’s presence on You Tube is all about the parodies and showing off your own dance moves. Party Rock Anthem and Gangnam Style have spoofs yes but there is THE song that made them famous.

There’s a reason Gangnam Style sits at the #1 spot. It’s because people still can’t get enough of the dance. I’m not saying The Harlem Dance won’t enjoy any success. It just won’t be on the same scale in regards to You Tube hits.

Let’s do a comparison: The original Gangnam Style video ALONE had ALL of the Harlem Shake videos numbers’ combine (as of today) after a month plus an additional 500,000,000. By the end of the year it hit the 1 Bullion views mark. Honestly no one Harlem Shake video can hope to reach Gangnam Style’s 1.3 BILLION hits. It’s simply not possible.

Weather you agree with me or not please answer the poll question(s) to the best of your ability. The Poll will close at the end of the year and results will be shown once you have voted. I don’t want to be accused of vote stuffing so I will not participate myself. That’s why I gave you may answers in this blog post. For the purposes of reference feel free to rewatch the YouTube videos embedded into this blog.

Leave a Reply

